Apologies…among other things.

So, there’s no easy way of getting around this:

Dear blog, I’m sorry I’ve neglected you so. I thought I would consistently be full of profound thoughts worthy of sharing with my devoted readers (my boyfriend and one other friend….my mom doesn’t even read my blog, how lame is that?) but alas, I am inconsistent, much like the talent on American Idol. But perhaps we can start anew. With your forgiveness of course.
Love,
Sarah

Now that we’ve moved on from that messy business, let’s talk about something else.

Beth Moore Bible Studies.

She’s got about a bajillion. I didn’t even think it was possible. And apparently, if you slap her name on something, it magically becomes legit. Now, I’m not saying that she’s not. She’s full of great stuff, but most of it is geared towards moms between the ages of 30 and 50. So why do her Bible studies pop up on the regular at my Bible college?

I usually see a flyer posted on the ladies’ room mirror that says something along the lines of, “learn what it means to be a woman of joy” or “learn how to be a woman of guidance” ect. I’m 22. I can barely take care of my beta fish. The least of my concerns is being a woman of guidance. And I’m willing to bet that the other young women in the dorms are struggling to take care of their beta fish as well.

Basically, what I’m saying is that there is a plethora of Bible studies written by women (not just Beth Moore) who are in their late 30’s and up, who have no idea what life is like for the young woman between the ages of 13 and 25 living in the year 2010. Life is different now. Sure, we have the same epic struggles that all women go through: fear of being alone forever, not being pretty enough, and being trapped by our insecurities. But the only advice we get is things like, “guard your heart” and “trust Jesus to bring the right man into your life at the right time”.

How? How am I supposed to do that?

Does anyone else feel this way?

Leave a Reply

